Banana Bread

Today when I walked in to work, there were 3 lovely brown bananas waiting for me.  The stems wouldn’t even snap because they were so ripe, and the peels took little effort.  These bananas were absolutely perfect to make a loaf of banana nut bread!

Image

 

 

Now, I know that banana bread is not that impressive to look at.  It’s brown, it’s a loaf and for appearance sake, it’s kind of plain jane.  But to me, banana bread is so much more than that.

It’s visiting with my grandma.

It’s a rainy day, curled up with a book and a cup of tea.

It’s winning a prize in the 4H baking contest.

It’s the comfort of home.

It’s a gently sweet flavor, combined with the sticky caramelization of sugar from the crust, a hint of cinnamon, and the soft comforting taste of those deliciously ripe bananas.

Image

Banana bread is sounding pretty awesome isn’t it? 

There’s just something magical to me about the aroma of freshly baked treats.  It draws family together, comforts a sad heart, and brings a smile to a child’s face.  Food is one of the simplest ways to show someone you care.  It speaks volumes when words fall short and brings back wonderful memories you thought were long forgotten.

Image

A slice just for me, warm and slathered in butter!

 

 

What dessert will always have your heart? 

