Grandma’s Cookies

For as long as I can remember, my grandma has been baking my grandpa the same cookies- Oatmeal Raisin.  There was never a time that the cookie jar by her stove wasn’t holding at least one of her homemade cookies, which us grandchildren were only allowed  a small amount.  Those were Grandpa’s cookies, and I can definitely see why.

At first bite, they are crisp, but as you continue to chew, the cookies seem to almost melt in your mouth.  The first flavors you taste are the gentle spice of cinnamon and the caramelized flavor of brown sugar.  Next are the raisins, with their chewy texture and the deep, rich flavor only dried fruit can possess.  The oats give the cookies a delightful texture and a taste of home that sends a smile straight to your heart.  Enjoy one of these warm with an ice cold glass of milk or dunked into your favorite mug of coffee, and you won’t regret it.

I think for me, there’s just nothing better than opening the oven door and smelling that first delicious scent of a freshly baked treat.  It always makes me feel a bit nostalgic.  I remember my dad making homemade cinnamon rolls while doing his best Julia Child impression.  I remember my grandma always having something delicious to snack on.  Maybe it’s the cinnamon that does it, but the smell of homemade cookies makes me feel like a kid again.  It’s the smell of soul soothing, of a hug and a snuggly blanket.  Just like the banana bread, the oatmeal raisin cookies are a recipe from my heart, made with love and a smile-

photo 1       photo 2        photo 3 photo 1        photo 2

 

“You never forget a beautiful thing that you have made,’ [Chef Bugnard] said. ‘Even after you eat it, it stays with you – always.”
-Julia Child, “My Life in France”

